What is D-aspartic acid?
D-aspartic acid, often shortened to DAA, is the mirror-image of the L-aspartic acid found in protein. The body does not use DAA to build protein. Small amounts occur in hormone-related tissues, which is why supplements are sold for testosterone and muscle gain.
The human evidence does not support that sales pitch. One 12-day trial found higher testosterone but did not report whether the men trained. Later trials in resistance-trained men found no rise at 3 g, a fall at 6 g in one short study, and no added strength or muscle benefit.
The short version
Unit: grams (g) of D-aspartic acid.
Supplement dose: there is no established starting amount. Do not use DAA to self-treat suspected low testosterone; diagnosis starts with symptoms and repeat morning blood tests.
Typical listings: 3 or 3.12 g powder scoops, and capsules with 3,000 mg per four capsules.
Skip: 6 g a day, blends that add other hormone-targeting ingredients, and any product presented as a substitute for a medical evaluation.
What people take D-aspartic acid for
| Claimed benefit | Dose / form studied | Research verdict | Evidence strength |
|---|---|---|---|
| Raise testosterone in men whose training status was not reported | 3.12 g/day sodium D-aspartate for 12 days; 43 men across two groups | Hormones rose in one short trial | Limited |
| Raise testosterone in resistance-trained men | 3 g/day DAA for 14–28 days or 6 g/day for 14 days to 3 months | No rise; 6 g lowered testosterone in one short trial | Moderate |
| Build strength and muscle | 3 g/day for 28 days or 6 g/day for 3 months with resistance training | No clear extra gain beyond placebo | Limited |
Most men should not take DAA expecting more testosterone or muscle. The positive result came from one short trial that did not report training status; resistance-training trials did not reproduce it.
When to ask a doctor before taking D-aspartic acid
- You have a hormone-related condition or take hormone therapy. DAA is sold to change hormones, and its effects have been inconsistent even in small trials.
Common dosage
There is no recognized recommended daily amount or official upper limit for DAA.
Some labels advise four weeks on followed by two to four weeks off. We also checked for a reason to take the break: the labels and sources reviewed do not establish that it prevents tolerance, restores a hormone response, or makes longer use safer. No trial tested that schedule.
Does food supply D-aspartic acid?
Most food tables report total aspartic acid after protein breakdown and do not distinguish the D form sold in supplements. A food-chemistry review[1] describes where D-aspartic acid has been detected, but not a reliable serving amount to use for this comparison.
| Food or process | What is known | Can it be counted as a DAA supplement dose? |
|---|---|---|
| Fermented dairy foods | D-amino acids can increase during fermentation | No |
| Heat-treated or alkaline-processed protein foods | Some L-to-D conversion can occur; amounts depend on processing | No |
| Some fruit and vegetables | Low levels of D-aspartic acid have been detected | No |
The aspartic acid grams in a standard protein-food record mostly describe the ordinary L form.
What you can buy
D-aspartic acid is sold as powder and capsules. Before comparing two products, check the ingredient form, the amount per serving, and how many capsules make that serving.
| Listing | Amount listed per serving | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Powder | 3 or 3.12 g per scoop | Some say four weeks on, two to four weeks off |
| Capsules | 3,000 mg per four capsules | 750 mg each |
| Sodium D-aspartate capsules | 3,000 mg of the salt per four capsules | About 2,600 mg DAA; the salt form used in the 2009 trial |
| Blends | 3,120 mg plus other ingredients | One adds DIM |
Note: Convert sodium D-aspartate to its DAA content before comparing it gram for gram with plain DAA.
What to pay attention to on the label
Which number on the label is the amount?
Find the D-aspartic acid line on the Supplement Facts panel and read the amount per serving, not the amount on the front of the bottle. Some labels list sodium D-aspartate, the salt used in the positive 2009 trial. Salt weight and DAA weight are not identical: about 86% of sodium D-aspartate's weight is DAA, so 3 g of the salt contains about 2.6 g of DAA.
Misleading labels
"Clinically studied 3.12 g"
That number traces to one 12-day trial that did not report the men's training status.
Blends with other hormone-affecting ingredients
One capsule product adds 200 mg of DIM, a compound sold for estrogen-related effects, to 3,120 mg of DAA. A blend makes it impossible to tell which ingredient caused an effect.
Confusing servings and items per serving
A label may say 3,000 mg on the front, but the serving is four capsules, so each capsule is 750 mg.
Manufacturer claims and the studies they may be based on
“Supports natural testosterone production” is broader than the human evidence. The positive result was short and has not been reproduced in trained men. “Supports strength and muscle” did not hold up in the training trials, where the supplement added no clear benefit over placebo.
Drawbacks and side effects
| Potential drawback | When/who it affects | Research evidence | Practical implication |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unwanted hormone changes | 6 g/day in trained men | One two-week trial lowered testosterone; a longer trial lowered estradiol, a form of estrogen | Do not assume doubling the dose improves the intended hormone outcome. |
| Unknown long-term safety | Use beyond the small studies, which lasted no more than 3 months | No serious signal in small trials does not establish a safe ceiling | Hormone-related conditions or therapy need clinician review. |
Understanding these risks
The small trials reported no serious side effects, but that does not establish long-term safety. There is no official upper limit and no trial here lasted longer than three months. At 6 g a day, testosterone fell in one two-week study. In the three-month study, estradiol fell 16%; the health meaning is unknown, and another study at 3 g found no estradiol change.
The science behind D-aspartic acid
Testosterone
The 2009 report[2] compared 23 men taking 3.12 g/day sodium D-aspartate for 12 days with 20 taking placebo. Both preparations included the same B vitamins. Training status was not reported, and the methods section does not say whether the men were assigned to groups at random. Average testosterone rose from 4.5 to 6.4 ng/mL in the active group, compared with 4.6 to 4.7 ng/mL with placebo. The often-quoted 42% increase is the change within the active group; it is not a demonstrated improvement in symptoms, strength or health. The authors declared no competing interests.
In a 2015 double-blind randomized study[3], 24 resistance-trained men received placebo, 3 g or 6 g/day for 14 days—eight per group. Three grams did not clearly raise testosterone. The tests measured total testosterone, including hormone bound to blood proteins, and free testosterone, the unbound portion. At 6 g, total testosterone fell from about 5.85 to 5.12 ng/mL within that group; free testosterone also fell and differed from placebo. This small trial argues against assuming that doubling the amount improves the hormone response.
The 12-week follow-up trial[4] randomized 22 trained men to 6 g/day or placebo during a resistance-training program; 19 contributed hormone results. Neither total nor free testosterone showed a clear treatment advantage over time. Thus the two-week decline at 6 g did not reappear as a clear long-term group difference, but neither did the desired increase.
Other small trained-men and boxer studies likewise failed to establish a testosterone boost. A 2017 review[5] of four human and 23 animal studies found the animal results more consistently positive than the human evidence, which it described as inconsistent and limited by study quality. Training status, study duration and baseline hormones might contribute to different results, but these trials do not establish which explanation is correct or identify a dependable responder group. Whether men with confirmed low testosterone respond differently, and whether any hormone change lasts long enough to improve symptoms, remain open questions.
A later review of testosterone boosters[6] included two D-aspartic-acid studies among 52 studies of many ingredients; its abstract did not identify D-aspartic acid among the agents it considered effective or possibly effective. That is a review judgment, not another D-aspartic-acid experiment.
Strength and muscle
In Willoughby and Leutholtz's 28-day trial[7], men taking 3 g/day gained strength and muscle with training, but no more than the placebo group. In Melville and colleagues' 12-week trial[8], 6 g/day likewise did not improve measured strength or muscle size beyond placebo. The strength analysis included 18 men and measured force when pushing the foot downward, a movement driven mainly by the calf muscles; ultrasound measured selected leg muscles. Planned tests of the heaviest weight each man could bench-press or squat once were not completed. The training programs produced gains; the supplement did not add a detectable advantage in these small trials.
Male infertility: a combination study
A 2025 report[9] tested 2,660 mg/day D-aspartic acid together with 200 mg ubiquinol and 10 mg zinc for three months in infertile men. It describes 75 recruited men and treatment and placebo groups of 24 each. The treatment group’s progressive sperm movement and testosterone rose compared with its own starting measurements.
The published abstract does not give the corresponding treatment-versus-placebo differences or explain what happened to the other recruited men. Its positive within-group results therefore cannot establish a benefit over placebo. Even if a benefit is confirmed in the full comparison, this three-ingredient trial would not identify D-aspartic acid as its cause.
Testosterone testing
If the concern is low testosterone, symptoms alone do not diagnose it. The Endocrine Society calls for symptoms or signs together with consistently low testosterone, confirmed with a second early-morning fasting blood test.
Before the test if you already supplement
Before testosterone testing, disclose DAA and any other hormone-related products, including when you last took them. MedlinePlus describes a morning draw[10]. There is no established DAA-stop interval for this test, and a routine pause cannot be justified from the inconsistent supplement trials. Follow the clinician's preparation instructions for the testosterone test.
The bottom line
D-aspartic acid has not lived up to its testosterone and muscle-building pitch. One short positive trial that did not report training status was followed by studies in trained men that found no dependable hormone or training advantage. Taking more has not solved that problem.
For someone buying it to make resistance training produce better results, the current evidence gives little reason to expect a useful difference. If you suspect low testosterone, finding out why is more useful than trying to raise a testosterone blood-test result with a supplement.
Help us improve this article
Spotted an error or found a source we should consider? Tell us which part of this article needs another look and include a link if you have one. Please leave out personal health details and lab results; we can’t answer individual medical questions.
References
- food-chemistry review ↩
- 2009 report ↩
- 2015 double-blind randomized study ↩
- 12-week follow-up trial ↩
- 2017 review ↩
- later review of testosterone boosters ↩
- Willoughby and Leutholtz: D-aspartic acid with 28 days of resistance training, 2013 ↩
- Melville et al.: D-aspartic acid over a three-month training period, 2017 ↩
- 2025 report ↩
- MedlinePlus describes a morning draw ↩
- Endocrine Society: hypogonadism in men and repeat morning testosterone testing
- Topo et al.: D-aspartic acid and the release of LH and testosterone in humans and rats, 2009
- Melville et al.: three and six grams of D-aspartic acid in resistance-trained men, 2015
- Płoszczyca et al.: six grams of D-aspartic acid in boxers, 2023
- Roshanzamir and Safavi: D-aspartic acid and testosterone, systematic review, 2017
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database: a 3.12 g D-aspartic acid powder label
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database: a D-aspartic acid powder with cycling directions
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database: a four-capsule D-aspartic acid label
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database: a sodium D-aspartic acid capsule label
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database: a D-aspartic acid and DIM blend
Corrections & updates
- Update
Updated the evidence discussion and practical guidance after editorial review.












